EPISODE REVIEWS


James Van Der Beek / Everlast
January 16, 1999


[OPENING] Clinton meets Flynt

This was a pretty good opening sketch. The way Clinton reacted while talking to Larry Flynt was awesome. Horatio did a great job with Larry Flynt. 8.5/10

 

[MONOLOGUE] James Van Der Beek

This was okay, James Van Der Beek didn't do much, but Darrell Hammond doing Don Pardo's voice was right on. I thought it sounded a little funny, but I didn't even realize that it wasn't Don Pardo. 7.5/10

 

[COMMERCIAL] Teeny Weenies

This was a good commercial in how it makes fun of the fertility drugs that are causing septuplets and all those crazy pregnancies. There's been a lot of good commercials this season, this one was good too. 8.5/10

 

[SKETCH] National Spelling Bee Finals

This was pretty good. Will Ferrell did a good job with this. When he told James to spell Kevin McHale, that was pretty good. James' voice in this was kinda weird, but it was pretty funny. The ending to this was a little weak though. 7/10

 

[COMMERCIAL] 'Cats' on home video

This was good because they were able to make fun of Cats, and then to be able to see everyone dressed like cats was funny. To see James Van Der Beek as a cat was so odd and entertaining. 8/10

 

[SKETCH] Teen Pulse: 7 Degrees Celsius

These teen groups out now are ridiculous. N' Sync, Backstreet Boys, etc, it's getting dumb. This was cool how they were able to make fun of them. Horatio made a good member of the group. How Will Ferrell was saying he met them in a chat room and stuff was pretty good too. 7.5/10

 

[SKETCH] Dog Show

Well, this is the second time we've seen this sketch, so it's prolly gonna be recurring now. I'm really starting to like this sketch though. The funniest part of this has to be the dog's names though. Mr. Bo Jangles and Captain Gingersnap are the best names for a dog I've ever heard. James in an afro was cool too. 8/10

 

[WEEKEND UPDATE] with Colin Quinn

This was weak. The Jordan joke and the Tom Snyder joke were really lame, and then he also screwed one up too. This Brian Fellow guy or whatever isn't that funny. If you're gonna use Tracy Morgan, have him be Dominican Lou. Dominican Lou is awesome. 5/10

 

[MUSICAL GUEST] Everlast

This is an awesome song. Everlast's voice sounded a little more hoarse than he does on his CD, but I still thought this was awesome. 9/10

 

[SKETCH] Harry Connick Jr. teased with laser pen

Jimmy Fallon was good with the Harry Connick impression. This is cool in how it used laser pointers, the invention that will be the downfall of our society. Creative sketch. 7/10

 

[SKETCH] History Channel's The War Abroad and at Home

This was pretty good in how they had all those bad facts, and James as the professor guy was okay. Other than that it was kinda weak. 6.5/10

 

[SKETCH] NBC exec creates Frankenteen

This was good in the sense that we saw a mini parody of Dawson's Creek, but this was kinda lame. Tim Meadows should be put to better use than this. 6.5/10

 

[SKETCH] Maria works her magic on Anthony

James played a cool guy in this pretty good. Cheri always does this character pretty good, and putting Horatio in there worked okay too. When James said about having his name in 10 karat gold and wearing Drakkar Noir (which is awesome cologne.) that all was good. Not bad for the last sketch of the night. 7.5/10

 

OVERALL: Overall, I was surprised at how well James Van Der Beek did. He showed a lot of talent, and the rest of the cast backed him up well. The musical guest was good too. Everlast is talented too. Next live episode with Gwyneth Paltrow should be fun too. 7.5/10


Episode Review written by Garrett Stillman


BACK to James Van Der Beek "SNL" Episode Reviews